PBL & makerspace: students can change the world

Project Based Learning reinforces or should reinforce what we know to be true; our students can changeawesome the world if instruction supports it. Whenever designing assessments, I repeat this mantra over and over. It was for this reason, I added a final project to The Frank Effect . The name of this project (inspired by Kid President) “Make The World More Awesome.”

 

There were 3 simple ground rules:

  1. Relevant research must be included to create a sense of urgency (with their cause). 
  2. A clear call for action.
  3.  The video must be posted to the public.
  4. The video must be two minutes or less.

 

Learning is a magical process and we are the magicians. We create the smoke and mirrors. We can also take the magic and make it a reality. This is where PBL and makerspace work hand in hand.

As always, I like to share before and after experiences. If I don’t see a huge shift in student PBLmakelearning and meaningful development (think a future citizen of the world status), I go back to the drawing board. I asked students to create similar mini projects, which focused on community or global change. Until our circuit work with “Frankenstein”, my kids were still chasing that grade. I am sure this grade motivation drives many honors teachers nutty. However, after our paper circuitry, students felt capable of anything!  It is for this reason, I believe many students went above and beyond. I had many create original songs
with lyrics for their video (going well beyond expectations and rubric). The same students, who were driven by grades all year, were suddenly not. The opportunity to change the world, it felt possible, because they made light. Prior to our paper circuitry, I might say their goal was to change the world, but there was still a red pen and grade.

Students had 2 days in class to complete the project and these are some of those videos. I used their videos, to complete my own “Make The World More Awesome” project. 

Tell me about your PBL experiences!

 

 

 

Leave a comment